top of page
Search

Stories

Tuesday the 19th of May

Today was a day for research and digging deeper into the stories we have created.

Since we have decided to go with a bug hotel, I've searched many sort of hotels and trying to adapt my characters into a hotel setting. It has been quite fun and easy so I think we are moving towards the right track.


I also developed my Butter puppet. I will play more into putting it into some setting of the garden later today.

I used an old buiscit box, and then covered it with an actual butter paper. Next time, I will use an actual butter to have the measurements so the wrapping can wrap around and look more realistic. But this is just a try, and I am quite happy with the result and can't wait to actually make it.

Here it is next to the other butterfly puppet I made. I used the same mechanism, but I will be looking into more of a handle possibly ? Maybe the ridiculousness of the size on the small mechanism is interesting ? Who knows.

After making that puppet, I started drawing up some story boards for the characters. I definitely want to make a lobster that goes into a pot. Still trying to figure out how to maneuver it.

Louis mentioned in our meeting the possibility of having two puppeteers. the way I see it right now is some sort of marionette style puppet that could be maneuvered by two puppeteers, one for the tail and one for legs ? But hat about the claws and head... Still have to think about that. I am very excited about it though, I want to be able to really focus on rendering on that one too. More to come on the lobster in the next few days. I also worked for drawings for the Butterflies , and the Butter puppet. The idea is quite simple I just want them to fly around and then enter into the hotel or the club.



As a group we also decided to all make a "Beatles" beetle 2D puppet so that we can form a little band. I got John Lennon. I will do more research into that and into shadow puppetry in general. I've been looking for a third puppet to do and got reminded of my crab I made a few weeks ago, and thought it could be an interesting one to do. Maybe as a lobby boy, trying to grab keys ?


More to come.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page