top of page
Search

Maquettes

Wednesday 27th of May

Final stretch before design sign off tomorrow. Slightly stressful. Starting to also feel very lonely here. Even with the group chats, the zoom calls etc, I am starting to see an effect on my mental health of the lack of socializing during a project. The collaboration is so important and I miss that very much. Not sure why it affected me today more than others, but as we have been able to tell throughout this whole process its constantly a roller coaster. Anyways, enough about my thoughts.


Today we had an earlier meeting, quite short, basically saying to crack on with anything for our presentations tomorrow. So thats exactly what I did, cracked on.Worked a a few bits. Tried to paint my woodlice but it did not end nicely. I tried to finalized my lobster maquette. Earlier in the morning, I chatted with Olivia on how to simplify my puppet. I think now we've managed to come up with a mechanism that could work.

The maquette I've managed to make was quickly made out of only paper and tape. It is definitely not the best maquette, but it was a good way to see how to move forward.

This one had only a pair of functioning legs, but I think I am going to have to change them. As we are simplifying it, I think the legs need less movement for sure. The maquette is mostly flat, because I am still trying to figure out how to make it.




With the three rods attached, I can move the tail and on another one, the one pair of moving legs, and the front one, I can wiggle around the claws. The maquette honestly is quite shitty, but does the work to realize a few things.

1- the body needs to be larger to accommodate 4 Pairs of moving legs

2- I need to figure out what type of joints I will use for the head and the body to be attached and then the claws and the the body.

3- How do I create the shapes of the claws and the body ?


So much to think about.

Here are a few videos of me trying to figure out how to work the maquette. It is not the best work, and I am not really happy with the maquette.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page