top of page
Search

Beetle and more

Friday 29th May

After all these lists and planning I am finding my energy back today. This morning I decided to design and create my beetle so that I could start playing with it and start filming and editing. I drew it out of paper and cut it. There are a few pins at the joints of the legs to the body. I still need to figure out if there needs to be rods behind or on the side to be able to move.


The Beetle will be a common puppet as it will appear in a group. We are re-creating the Beatles group as beetles. They will appear on a roof and there will be some songs relating to poo (as a joke about the dung Beetle).

I then added a little guitar for him to keep with the Beatles theme ! I am quite happy with this little fellow !


I've also been starting to work on the rendering ideas for the woodlouse. I am trying to figure out whether to keep the bottle finish or to cover it with craft tape to have a better way to render on top. To keep the shine I'll use some PVA glue.

I have been looking into the rendering. The color of the woodlice is not the most appealing and colorful. In fact it is quite monotone. I have decided to go with a classic woodlouse. In the tones of grey, brown and black. After painting on my two different surfaces (even if it is clearly not very pretty yet), I am realizing that painting directly on the bottle after a layer of black gesso, is probably better than adding a layer of craft tape. The craft tape was not how I wanted, it lost the nice shape and smoothness of the bottle.



 

I've also been researching more images for the hotel, as well as videos. They will all be linked under the tap research, but here are a few. We will be sharing those as a group and coming with a group vision and decide what type of hotel we want.


 

A good end of the week ! I am prepared for the business of the next few weeks. I need to keep in mind that I will have to leave and go back to the UK in the middle of the project, so they need to be able to travel well and I need to work fast. I will try and get everything done building wise before I have to go back up to Cardiff. The next few weeks will be concentrated on building and filming.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page