top of page
Search

Action !

Tuesday 2nd of May

Finally got behind the camera today.

This morning we set up a filming station. Moved over my desk, ironed a green sheet and taped it as flat and tied as possible. After a few uses and being able to see how it gives on Premiere Pro; I am not sure this will last long. I might try tomorrow to paint a surface green, to avoir creases. But it was still very useful for us to try it out with the beetle and the butterflies.

I then played around with the Beetle and the Butterly, discovering the joys and the complications of puppetry. One movement can seem easy once, but done 30 times per minutes becomes hard. The butterflies particularly are quite a difficult movement, one finger has to move while the others stay still. In another world, I would have changed this mechanism to make it easier on the hand ?


The Beetle was the first puppet to get in front of the camera. My friend and I, because it needs two puppeteer, practices and saw first how it could move. Then we turned on all the lights and went for it and got a few takes. We then took the butterflies for a ride to try and get used to them and see how they worked.

With all this footage, I then uploaded all up into premiere pro and tried to work my way through. Of course this is the first attempt with the green screen and editing so it is quite chunky, and clearly not finalized. Yet I am quite happy because Premiere Pro seems to bee cooperating so far.


Here is the little video I managed to do today. Once I have a better green screen surface and a faster hand on Premiere I will be able to go faster.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page